News and Events

Youth Philanthropy Council Announces 2016 Grant Awards

The Youth Philanthropy Council of the Hutchinson Community Foundation awarded $3,000 in grants from the Richard W. Dillon Memorial Fund for Youth Philanthropy on March 6 at Dillon Nature Center. 

The YPC is comprised of 19 high school students from across Reno County. These youth have met for the last four months to discuss local issues of concern to youth, learn about philanthropy and grant making, and award grants to youth-serving organizations.

The following grants were awarded Sunday afternoon at Dillon Nature Center.

Boys & Girls Clubs of Hutchinson: $650 for remote-control machines and space explorers STEM education programs

Central Christian School: $500 for Serve-A-Thon Day: Cougars Who Care € a day of service both at school and in the community

Circles of Hope Reno County: $350 for Building Youth€s Capacity to Manage Resources, like understanding the banking system, opening a savings account and having financial goals

Dillon Nature Center: $250 to Shady Lane Community Courtyard € a location for teens to study and relax

Hutchinson's Historic Fox Theatre: $750 to help fund the €By the Bus€ Arts in Education Program

Nickerson High School Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA): $50 for the Red Cross Blood Mobile

Stage 9: $450 for the school performance of "Little Shop of Horrors"

2015-16 Youth Philanthropy Council members:

Buhler High School: Hannah Bretz, Mauryn Kennedy, Jennifer Maschler and Grant Owens

Central Christian School: Christopher Blankenship and Marin Wilcox

Haven High School: Olivia Bergmeier, Justin Carlson, Edward Dorey and Garrett Laughlin

Hutchinson High School: Mikaila Bergeron and Luke Willis

Nickerson High School: Alex DiDomenico and Trystan Isley

Pretty Prairie High School: Bailey Graber, Nikayla Lampkins and Tanner Ray

Trinity Catholic High School: Sam Mailloux and Tess Yackley




More News and Events